- Business Tax Division
Business Tax Division
Business License Application
If you are opening a business inside the City Limits of Lebanon at a physical location, you are required to complete the entire Business License Application Packet. That includes pages: 4,5,8, 11, 12, and 13.
If you are opening a business in your home or using your home address (that is located inside the City Limits of Lebanon) as your location address, you are required to complete pages: 4, 5, 11, and 13.
If you are a Class 4 and your business is not located inside the City Limits of Lebanon, you are only required to complete pages 4 & 5.
If you are unsure if your address is located in the City Limits of Lebanon, feel free to contact the Business Tax Office, and we can look it up for you.
Please send all paperwork to the Business Tax Office located at 200 North Castle Heights Avenue, Suite 124 or by email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please note that we use the Business License Application Form that the Tennessee Department of Revenue provides. We must receive pages 4 & 5 to process your business license application. Please answer all questions on the application completely. Incomplete and unsigned applications will delay processing.
If you are submitting an application by email, you will need to contact the Business Tax Office to pay with a credit/debit card over the phone. There is a $2.95 processing fee for credit/debit cards.
If you are unsure what pages you need to complete or have any questions regarding the Business License Application Packet, please feel free to contact the Business Tax Office at 615-444-4905.
The Business Tax Division manages the issuance of :
- Business Licenses
- Beer Permits
- Transient Vendor Permits
- Peddler Permits
- Solicitor Permits
- Liquor Store Permits
- Liquor By The Drink Permits
- Gas Bond Permits
- Taxi Cab Public Convenience Certificates
- Taxi Driver Licenses
- Various miscellaneous permits Fees
The following fees are received under the management of the Business Tax Division:
- Business taxes
- Motel taxes
- Beer Permit fees
- Liquor By The Drink fees
- Flea Market fees
- Miscellaneous fees
Business License Information
The Business Tax Office issues Standard Business Licenses (that gross over $10,000) and Minimal activity Business Licenses (that gross between $3,000-$9,999).
Businesses that expect to gross over $3,000 are required by the Tennessee Department of Revenue to have a Business License.
You may obtain a City of Lebanon Business License at our office or under Quick Links. The initial license is $15. We accept cash, checks, and credit cards. However, there is a $2.95 processing fee for credit cards.
Included in the Business License Packet are forms from the Building Inspector’s Office and the Emergency Contact Sheet from the Police Department.
Please remember if your business is inside the city limits, you will need to obtain a Wilson County Business License as well. The link for their website is below.
How to Renew your Business License:
For Standard Business Licenses, you will need to pay your Business Tax and submit your return to the Tennessee Department of Revenue through the TNTAP Website, which is: https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices/_/. If your Fiscal Year Ends in December, your Business Tax is due by Tax Day. If you do not submit your payment and return on time, you will have late fees to pay to the Department of Revenue.
Once the State processes your payment and return, they will add your business to our renewal list. Once your business appears on our renewal list with the Tennessee Department of Revenue, we can renew your Business License and mail it to you.
If you do not receive a Renewed Business License in the mail from us within a month after paying your Business Tax and submitting your return to the State, please contact the Business Tax Office at 615-444-4905.
For a Minimal Business License, if you stayed between $3,000- $9,999 you will need to fill out the Minimal Business License Renewal Form that was mailed to you and pay the $15.00 renewal fee to renew your business license. If you went over $9,999 in the previous year, you will mark that on the Minimal Business License Renewal Form and submit it to the Business Tax Office. We will send your form over to the Tennessee Department of Revenue to have them bump you up to a Standard Business License and you will be required to pay Business Tax and submit your return through the TNTAP website. If you plan to go over $9,999 in the current year, you will need to complete the Minimal Business License Renewal Form and pay the $15 renewal fee. Then we can send your Minimal Business License renewal Form to the State and have them bump you up to a Standard Business License.
If you did not receive a Minimal Business License Renewal Form in the mail, please contact the Business Tax Office at 615-444-4905.
Address Change Form
If you have changed your address or mailing address for your business license, please fill out the address change form. This will allow us to have the correct address on your business license. Please note if you are changing ONLY your mailing address and not location address.
Business Name Change Form
If you have changed the name of your business, please complete the name change form. This will allow us to have your business license under the correct name.
Certificate of Occupancy
A Certificate of Occupancy must be issued by the Building Inspector’s Office prior to the opening of any business. Therefore, a business must have both a Certificate of Occupancy and a Business License before opening a business. Any business located within the city limits of Lebanon, TN must have a Wilson County Business License as well.
State law requires that within 20 days of opening a business, the Business must obtain a Business License. If a business ceases to operate, a Final Business Tax Return must be filed along with closing taxes within 15 days after the business ceases to be active.
“Stopping Addiction and Fostering Excellence (SAFE) Act”
PURSUANT TO TENNESSEE CODE ANNOTATED, 33-2-405, IT IS UNLAWFUL FOR A PERSON, PARTNERSHIP, ASSOCIATION, OR CORPORATION TO OWN OR OPERATE A SERVICE OR FACILITY THAT PROVIDES ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE PREVENTION AND/OR TREATMENT WITHIN THE MEANING OF TITLE 33 OF THE TENNESSEE CODE ANNOTATED WITHOUT HAVING OBTAINED A LICENSE. A VIOLATION OF THIS REQUIREMENT IS A CLASS B MISDEMEANOR. EACH DAY OF OPERATION WITHOUT A LICENSE CONSTITUTES A SEPARATE OFFENSE. REPORT ANY SUSPECTED UNLICENSED ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE PREVENTION AND/OR TREATMENT SERVICES TO THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES’ OFFICE OF LICENSURE BY DIALING [WEST TENNESSEE LICENSURE OFFICE PHONE NUMBER; MIDDLE TENNESSEE LICENSURE OFFICE PHONE NUMBER; OR EAST TENNESSEE LICENSURE OFFICE PHONE NUMBER, AS APPLICABLE TO THE LOCATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY].